Tiger Nationals Langebaan 16 -18 September 2011

Hobie Tiger Nationals, 16th - 18th Sep at Langebaan

The Hobie Tiger Nationals were held this past weekend 16th – 18th September at Langebaan, and as per usual, the Hobie Class organised an AWESOME event. There were 20 entries, an extremely competitive fleet and the weather and wind was just perfect! Fri and Sat were lovely sunny days with a SE wind, starting around 12 knots and building to around 18 by the end of the day, and the last day's racing saw the fleet head out into a NW which built to 20 or so knots as the cold front came in. Needless to say, there were many capsizes!

Race Officer Doug Alison did an exemplary job on the bridge and ran 13 perfect races of a minimum of 40 or so minutes - three on the first afternoon and five on Sat and Sun. Awesome racing, but Hobie Tigers are not for sissies and there were 40 very exhausted sailors by the end of the regatta. The barf was empty and everyone was in bed by 21h30 on the last night... yes, believe it or not, at a Hobie regatta!!!!

Massive thanks must go to Louise du Plessis, Lilian Steyn and of course Brent Coetzee from Hobie Langebaan and Hobie SA for all their hard work, and for all the great sponsorships. Hobie Regattas are always incredible to attend – the input and hard work from the class is very special in the Hobie Family.

In the end, after three highly competitive days of sailing, Blaine and Peter Dodds beat Duncan Ross and James MacKay by one point to win a very highly contested Nationals. Huge congrats to all competitors – life must be seeming VERY slow today!

	Skipper	Crew	Sail Number	Race 1	Race 2	Race 3	Race 4	Race 5	Race 6	Race 7	Race 8	Race 9	Race 10	Race 11	Race 12	Race 13	Total	minus discard
1	Blaine Dodds	Peter Dodds	2233	6	6	1	3	6	4	1	3	3	1	1	1	1	37	25
2	Duncan Ross	James MacKay	2305	2	-1	4	1	1	7	3	2	5	6	2	5	2	41	28
3	Allan Lawrence	Inge Schabort	2287	1	4	3	2	3	2	6	5	8	4	6	3	4	51	37
4	William Edwards	Douglas Edwards	2466	3	2	2	8	7	5	4	4	4	3	4	4	3	53	38
5	Richard Ayres	Hein de Jamaier	2346	5	5	6	6	2	6	8	8	2	7	3	2	10	70	52
6	Paul Lagesse	Johnny van der Vyver	2289	21	15	5	10	4	3	5	6	6	5	10	6	6	102	66
7	Shaun Ferry	Lee Hawkins	2235	4	7	21	4	- 5	1	2	1	1	2	21	21	21	111	69
8	Marc Kopel	Ewald Erasmus	2451	8	3	7	7	9	17	9	21	7	8	5	8	7	116	78
9	Mike Goodyer	Andrew Fourie	1858	9	8	16	16	10	9	7	7	10	9	7	7	5	120	88
10	Charles Girard	Gary Hubach	20	7	9	8	5	13	8	10	10	9	15	8	12	21	135	99
11	William Kieser	Claire Walker	2447	17	14	17	9	12	11	11	9	11	10	9	10	8	148	114
12	Brent Coetzee	Sis Nphikwa	2463	10	10	10	12	8	10	12	11	12	12	11	21	21	160	118
13	Charles Rickens	Rob Selig	2306	12	11	9	14	11	12	17	21	15	11	13	9	9	164	129
14	Brent Gray	Kirsten Veenstra	2234	11	13	12	17	14	13	13	12	14	14	12	11	11	167	136
15	Andrew Walker	Sue Walker	2424	18	18	11	11	15	16	21	14	16	13	21	21	21	216	174
16	Petrus Smith	Phillip Rebel	2054	15	16	15	13	16	15	14	13	21	16	21	21	21	217	180
17	Miles Web	JC Knobel	1911	14	12	13	15	17	14	16	21	21	21	21	21	21	227	185
18	Alfred Andrag	Ralph Andrag	2120	13	17	14	19	21	21	15	15	18	17	21	21	21	233	191
19	J Goldsmid	Mark Nicholls	2265	16	21	18	18	18	21	21	21	17	18	14	21	21	245	203
20	Craig Avery	Storm Avery	67.5	21	21	21	21	21	21	21	21	21	21	21	21	21	273	231